Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Iron Bacteria Work the Myakkahatchee Creek 1


April 8, 2014

One of the many things the Myakkahatchee Creek had to offer January 5 was a huge lovely patch of the Leptothrix discophora biofilm. I went crazy shooting it but didn’t have the right lens on my camera, so most of the shots are unsatisfactory. Two, however, made the cut. You can see many other photographs I’ve taken of the L. discophora film on this page of my website. Click on a thumbnail to see the whole photograph. And if you’re curious about the science behind this gorgeous stuff, take a look at my FAQs page.

01052014 MC-97

 

4 responses

  1. This entire series is beautiful. Really beautiful!

    Like

    April 8, 2014 at 12:47 PM

    • Thank you, Ken! I have one more left in the Myakkahatchee Creek series; then it’s on to something else.

      Like

      April 8, 2014 at 2:10 PM

  2. Like you, my eye is always on the lookout for Lepto on my walks. I hope to revisit some new spots this year that showed promise now that the ice is melting. You have the best FAQ out there on this colorful find.

    Like

    April 8, 2014 at 12:57 PM

    • Mark, I just now see that I never responded to your comment. I’m so sorry. I hope you found your Lepto. Thanks for the compliment about my FAQ. My book, They Breathe Iron: Artistic and Scientific Encounters with an Ancient Life Form, is finally out, with a lot more information about the iron bacteria. This winter’s project is to create a web site where people can order the book on line.

      Like

      October 12, 2014 at 12:04 PM

Comment?

