Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Iron Bacteria Work the Myakkahatchee Creek 2


April 9, 2014

I was lucky enough to be able to stand on a small sandbar in the creek and take this photograph facing the shore. I was lucky in two ways. Not only did I have a good place to stand without getting my feet very wet, but also I could see the film in all its glory. The reason? The angle at which the sun’s rays hit the iridescent film and the viewer’s orientation to the sun make a difference in the film’s visibility. When I was turned 90 or 180 degrees, the film did not look as colorful. The orange color of the iron oxide beneath the film predominated.

01052014 MC-101

 

Comment?

