Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Nothing Gold Can Stay


April 27, 2014

Janet and I drove in to the Little Manatee River State Park February 2. I say “drove in” because it’s inland from the places we usually visit. It’s also somewhat north. The foliage and feel of the place are just enough different from those at our regular haunts that we feel definitely “away,” even though this park is barely an hour from Sarasota. A stretch of the trail goes through blankets and blankets of various kinds of ferns, most of them green. But I could make a better photograph out of this one, senescing into golds and oranges.

 

02022014 LMRSP-42

5 responses

  1. This is what our ferns looked like in the early fall.

    Like

    April 28, 2014 at 10:23 AM

  2. They didn’t all look like this, as you’ll see in tomorrow’s post.

    Like

    April 28, 2014 at 2:40 PM

  3. Beautiful colours, but in my experience deceptively difficult to photograph. You’ve done well, Linda

    Like

    April 30, 2014 at 5:16 AM

    • Oh, I’m glad to hear you say that these colors are difficult to photograph. When I saw the sun lighting up these leaves, I didn’t think I’d have any problem, but it took a looong time playing around with Lightroom to get this photo right. Wonder why.

      Like

      April 30, 2014 at 9:29 PM

      • I felt exactly the same when I tackled ferns last Autumn. This will be easy, I thought. Wrong! One of the major problems was getting a composition that worked and another getting enough of the fronds of the fern in focus.

        Like

        May 1, 2014 at 3:40 AM

Comment?

