Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Iron Bacteria in Northern Ohio 1


July 7, 2014

I’ve been in Ohio for a while now, and Saturday I went down to the Vermilion River for the fourth time since I’ve been back. I’ve found a bit of Leptothrix discophora every time, but the water is still too high to cross over to the spot where I have often seen it in abundance. Last year I wasn’t able to cross all season, and I hope I will be able to this year. In this photograph, the blue film is the L. discophora film proper, the green is the film reflecting green foliage overhead, and the orange is the iron oxide product of the iron bacteria.

07052014 Schoepfle Garden-213-Edit

 

5 responses

  1. No one does Iron Bacteria better!

    Like

    July 7, 2014 at 3:20 PM

  2. Is there an iron bacteria book in the works?

    Like

    July 7, 2014 at 5:39 PM

    • How kind of you to ask, Sommersee. Yes! I have received the first copy, which I am regarding as page proofs. A few more corrections to put in, and then I will be ready to print good copies! I’ll make an announcement when the time comes.

      Like

      July 7, 2014 at 5:56 PM

      • Linda, Just call me David. I do not know how to post comments any other way!

        Like

        July 7, 2014 at 6:18 PM

Comment?

