Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Winter-Wheat Fields 1


July 21, 2014

Driving around the farmlands near my home, I’m often fascinated by the great rolls of hay left in the fields after the winter wheat is harvested. They do look like the giant version of that breakfast cereal whose name I can’t remember. But I find them iconic in their own right, too. Usually when I see them I’m a) without my camera or b) where I can’t safely pull off the road. But these are in the field right across the road from my house. I had fun exploring them this weekend.

07202014 Our Ohio Neighborhood-30

 

5 responses

  1. bernhardtk@aol.com

    Shredded wheat?

    Like

    July 21, 2014 at 12:57 PM

  2. Susan Egloff

    Shredded Wheat?

    Like

    July 21, 2014 at 1:27 PM

  3. Thank you Kathy, Susan, Anne, Carol, Ruta, and Mary (so far). Anne offered this correction as well: “Linda, I believe that you mean rolls of straw. Hay is a crop of grass or alfalfa used to feed animals; Straw is the stem that is left after harvesting grain such as wheat, rye, or oats, and it is used for bedding animals or mulching plants.” It’s nice to have such knowledgeable friends.

    Like

    July 21, 2014 at 4:23 PM

  4. They are iconic and over here too, Linda.

    Like

    July 22, 2014 at 1:46 PM

    • Ah, I wondered if you had them, too. People still make the rectilinear ones here as well, but I think they get loaded on trucks right away. I never see them in the fields, and I do see them on trucks, going to barns somewhere, I suspect.

      Like

      July 22, 2014 at 1:55 PM

Comment?

