Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

The Old Homestead 1


August 6, 2014

As I was wandering northern Ohio Sunday I came across an apparently abandoned dilapidated house with a convenient pull-off next to it. I had been photographing the building for about 10 minutes when a car drove up the access road near me. Oh-oh. Out came a man, and quick as a wink I said, “Hello!” adding as I gestured toward the house, “Is this yours?” “Hello!” he said in a friendly tone of voice. (Whew.) I said, “Do you mind if I photograph the house? It’s a way of preserving it for a little longer.” No, he didn’t mind, and warned me about the old well at the side of the house, which I had seen and walked around. Then he told me most of his life story! What a sweet man. His ancestors came over from Ireland in the early 1800s and homesteaded the 200 acres that he and his brother still farm. Before he got back into his car, he told me I could come back and photograph the place any time I want. Wow.

08032014 Wandering Northern Ohio-26

 

10 responses

  1. You made a friend. And some very nice photos, too.

    Like

    August 6, 2014 at 6:06 PM

    • You have a lot of faith in me, Ken! How do you know the others will be nice? The pressure is on . . .

      Like

      August 7, 2014 at 12:17 PM

  2. bernhardtk@aol.com

    You and old structures….

    Like

    August 6, 2014 at 9:43 PM

  3. What a great story. I look forward to all your fantastic photos of this place!

    Like

    August 7, 2014 at 11:25 AM

    • Thank you, Melinda. I hope you and Ken won’t be disappointed.

      Like

      August 7, 2014 at 2:53 PM

  4. You photographed and met the old ways of the USA ! what luck, and what comfort to know that a man like that still exists in today’s jungle.

    Like

    August 7, 2014 at 11:16 PM

    • I agree, Vera. My encounter with this farmer felt like a real gift.

      Like

      August 8, 2014 at 10:52 AM

Comment?

