Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

The Old Homestead 2


August 7, 2014

This is looking through the roof over the front porch. I know I will hear pleas for a look at the whole house and its interior. I regret to say that the whole house didn’t lend itself to any photographs (by me, anyway) that were anything but documentary. Still, for those of you who wonder, below are the documentary shots. They show why there are no interior photographs.

08032014 Wandering Northern Ohio-33-3

 

08032014 Wandering Northern Ohio-14

 

08032014 Wandering Northern Ohio-7

 

08032014 Wandering Northern Ohio-46

17 responses

  1. Ann Hollins

    Certainly a tear down- must be infested

    Like

    August 7, 2014 at 4:22 PM

  2. I think the hole in the roof is an excellent shot. If you are not inspired by the others, you might try a black and white conversion. I think they would be perfect for it.

    Like

    August 7, 2014 at 4:32 PM

    • Thanks, Ken. Glad you like the hole-in-the-roof shot. I might take your suggestion to try a B&W conversion for the others.

      Like

      August 7, 2014 at 4:49 PM

  3. Nope. Not disappointed. And to (once again) echo Ken – I think these would be great in b&w.

    Like

    August 7, 2014 at 4:49 PM

  4. These may be good in soft black and white from an aesthetic point of view – but I like them in color because they show LIFE – and I would not mind building me a porch just like that one, hole and all, in full color!

    Like

    August 7, 2014 at 11:07 PM

    • I’m glad you like that hole in the porch, Vera, Today I will post my black and white versions of the whole house, and you can see whether you think black and white adds anything to the aesthetic quality of those photos.

      Like

      August 8, 2014 at 10:47 AM

      • I wish to thank you for taking the time to carry on an intelligent conversation with me ! I’ll see and make a comment. I already feel that the BW will fall into the museum category …

        Like

        August 8, 2014 at 12:55 PM

        • No museum category for those photos. See my comment in today’s post (The Old Homestead 3).

          Like

          August 8, 2014 at 2:59 PM

  5. that looks very cool 🙂

    Like

    August 8, 2014 at 3:43 AM

  6. Thank you, Joshi.

    Like

    August 8, 2014 at 10:43 AM

Comment?

