Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

The Old Homestead 3


August 9, 2014

At one time this homestead was a dairy farm. I think this little building is the milk house, where the milk cans were kept until they were picked up by the milk processors. It’s only about eight or ten feet tall and eight or ten feet on a side.

Yesterday in the comments section Ken Bello and Melinda Green Harvey suggested I try converting my documentary shots of the house (posted yesterday) to black and white. So here, below, they are. Actually they are black and white with split toning of yellow and blue. They do look a bit more interesting to me—the somber mood is enhanced—but I still think they’re just photographs of the house. I’m interested in the opinions or suggestions other people may have.

08032014 Wandering Northern Ohio-50

 

08032014 Wandering Northern Ohio-14-2 08032014 Wandering Northern Ohio-7-Edit-2 08032014 Wandering Northern Ohio-46-2

7 responses

  1. I like the split toning on the house photos. The house seems to have more “character” than the color versions. That’s just my opinion, though. I wonder how others feel about this type of conversion.

    Like

    August 8, 2014 at 1:20 PM

  2. It’s probably no surprise to you (or to Ken, for that matter!) that I prefer the conversions. To my eye, the color is distracting; that might be because I am not used to seeing so much green.

    Like

    August 8, 2014 at 1:41 PM

  3. Dear Ken and Melinda: I thank you for pushing me to look at these photographs another way; that was interesting. However, the two color ways just look to me like two different ways to see the same images, neither way being preferable. To me, these six images are just snapshots of an abandoned house, and their only value is in giving context to the photographs of the porch (yesterday’s post) and the upstairs window and roof (the post before that). I’m probably overthinking this . . .

    Like

    August 8, 2014 at 2:46 PM

  4. Oh, I love the split toning! They have a lot of mystery.

    Like

    August 8, 2014 at 9:23 PM

    • Thank you, Karen. It seems other people like these better than I do.

      Like

      August 8, 2014 at 9:25 PM

  5. I do like these warm grey tones old-memories versions. They do belong in a different and more evocative mood than the color version. They are like memories of things past. They even make me want t write some small story about what lives the house contained and what happened. I bet these images would look good in warm sepia tones too.

    Like

    August 8, 2014 at 10:20 PM

  6. Thank you, as always, Vera, for your kind comments and close “reading” of my photographs. I’m honored that these have inspired you to think about writing a story about the lives lived in this house. Wondering about those lives is something I always do when I photograph ruins. Sometimes I long for time travel; a good story would be the next best thing.

    Like

    August 9, 2014 at 8:58 AM

Comment?

