Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Rocky Vermilion Shoreline 1


September 7, 2014

There is so much to love about the Vermilion River shoreline. I’ve already shown you (here and here) some of the Leptothrix discophora that I found there August 24, but that day I was also taken with the rocks along the shore. The flaking rock in this photograph is shale. At the bottom you can see the rusty look of iron oxide coating some of it and other rocks; the iron bacteria precipitated the iron from the water.

08242014 Schoepfle Garden-33

15 responses

  1. I like the colorful and abstract quality in this, Linda. Blue and gold happens to be my favorite color combination.

    Like

    September 7, 2014 at 2:45 PM

    • Thanks, Ken. I’m partial to blue and orange myself, and this gold is close enough to orange for me.

      Like

      September 7, 2014 at 2:56 PM

  2. Linda – this has a nice sculptural feel to it. I like it very much.

    Like

    September 8, 2014 at 2:22 PM

    • Thank you, Melinda. I’d never seen shale shards long and narrow like the ones here. They remind me of a bouquet.

      Like

      September 8, 2014 at 3:22 PM

      • Yes – a bouquet painted by Picasso, during his little-known blue-grey period.

        Like

        September 8, 2014 at 8:04 PM

        • Or part of a sculpture by Louise Nevelson that time she ran out of wood.

          Like

          September 8, 2014 at 8:16 PM

          • I’d forgotten about that time! It was the Great Wood Shortage in the 70s, if I recall my art history correctly.

            Like

            September 8, 2014 at 8:18 PM

  3. I like those tones and the shapes they make.

    Like

    September 10, 2014 at 1:22 PM

  4. Thank you, Andy. The shale of the Vermilion River makes many interesting shapes, and there are always new ones to see because the pieces break into smaller pieces, get swept downriver, and leave new shapes in their wake. It’s never-ending amusement there.

    Like

    September 10, 2014 at 2:06 PM

  5. orepuk

    Superbe

    Like

    September 11, 2014 at 5:05 AM

  6. Stunning sculptures in those rocks!

    Like

    September 13, 2014 at 6:23 PM

    • Thanks, Lynn. I sure love these rocks, especially the shale.

      Like

      September 13, 2014 at 7:46 PM

  7. And I just read the comments above, so of course others see that too – yes, Louise Nevelson scaled down!

    Like

    September 13, 2014 at 6:24 PM

Comment?

