Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Food Center 1


October 25, 2014

I can’t say why so many photographers enjoy photographing ruins, but I can tell you a few things about ruins that attract me. I think most of all I like the surface textures I find there. But I think I also like to see nature still exercising the upper hand; I especially like when trees grow inside buildings. In ruins you can often see signs of a structure’s basic construction that are often unnoticeable when the object is shiny and new. Probably there is sadness associated with every ruin, and sometimes I think about that, embarrassed to be benefitting from someone else’s misfortune.

10042014 Northern Ohio-49

2 responses

  1. All excellent points you made, and of course the photo is great – I like the light on the plants inside.

    Like

    October 25, 2014 at 9:50 PM

    • Thank you, Lynn. When I straightened the image to correct for parallax, the ceiling in the left part of the image remained visible of course, The rest of the fabrication seems believable to me. II find the ceiling weirdness a bit disconcerting. but I hope viewers can forgive that lie.

      Like

      October 29, 2014 at 8:48 AM

Comment?

