Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Goodbye, Dear Friend

12222013 MRSP-97“Janet and I drove . . .,” “Janet and I prowled . . .,” “Janet and I went to . . . .” Since I started this blog in 2011, many of my entries have started this way. They no longer will. Janet Lustgarten died yesterday of a glioblastoma diagnosed less than a month ago.

Janet and I met in 2004 at a continuing-education class, Psychology of the Photographic Image, at what is now the Ringling College of Art and Design. We developed our friendship mostly by e-mail and car. Our excursions ventured as far as an hour or hour and a half would take us. While we chattered a blue streak all the way there and all the way back, we spoke little after reaching our destination, preferring communion through our cameras. Long before I started blogging, Janet and I would send each other our three favorite photographs of the outing. The responding e-mail carried out the critique lessons we learned at Ringling. In this way we each became a better photographer.

Janet always sought to improve her art, yet shunned public display of it for fear that too much feedback could alter her art practice. She knew what she wanted to achieve and was her own best judge of accomplishment. Janet’s nature and scenic photographs tended to project a strong mood and evoked equally strong emotional reactions. Her photos of family members and total strangers illustrated how she could put her subjects at ease and reveal character and personality.

Her analytical mind was adept not only in figuring out what made a good photograph but also at understanding and conveying to others meanings of movies, plays, art and art exhibitions, and conversations. Janet was a warm and generous person who will be missed every day.

16 responses

  1. Linda, I’m so sorry to read this. Ironically, my sister has the same diagnosis. Shocking. It was a great privilege knowing
    Janet for the short time I knew her.

    Like

    March 21, 2015 at 9:47 PM

    • I’m glad you were able to spend some time with Janet at the “new” meetup. And I’m sorry about your sister. A old friend wrote me today that she feels “humble” to be alive. Maybe if we all felt that way, this world would be better.

      Like

      March 22, 2015 at 4:19 PM

  2. Words usually fail me in these circumstances. i am so sorry for your loss.

    Like

    March 21, 2015 at 10:58 PM

  3. Patricia Rockwood

    So sorry for the loss of your friend, Linda. I hope you find solace in the photography you shared with her.

    Like

    March 22, 2015 at 12:17 AM

    • Thank you, Patricia. Photography has been my meditation. Solace may not be so different.

      Like

      March 22, 2015 at 8:11 PM

  4. What a beautiful memorial. As your continued photography, as influenced by her, will be as well.

    Like

    March 22, 2015 at 10:50 AM

  5. Ohh, I am so sorry for you. To lose a friend is really a difficult step in life. I wish you courage, and remember that she will still live in your heart. Those we love and lose always do.

    Like

    March 22, 2015 at 12:57 PM

  6. I have often wondered who Janet was. I am so sorry to hear of your loss, Linda, and you have written a wonderful eulogy to her.

    Like

    March 26, 2015 at 4:59 AM

  7. Linda, please accept my condolences on the loss of your friend. Your tribute to Janet was beautifully written, and honored her life and the things she loved.

    Like

    March 30, 2015 at 9:46 PM

  8. I’m so very sorry to hear. My deepest sympathy.

    Like

    April 16, 2015 at 2:50 PM

Comment?

