Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Took the Long Way Home 1


April 1, 2015

A week ago Saturday the camera and I dawdled on the way to farmers market and took the long way home. The early light on orange stucco felt like a double whammy of morning. If you follow Ashley Lily Scarlet’s Strata of the Self, you may see this photo again someday. (You may need to reduce the size of your browser window—my vertically formatted photographs in this WordPress theme show either too large or too small.)

03212015-untitled-178

14 responses

  1. great shot! I like the contrast between your sharp shadow and the blurred other shadow.

    Like

    April 1, 2015 at 7:06 AM

    • Thank you, Markus. Now that you mention it, those shadows are a nice contrast. I love it when people see or think about something in my photographs that I have not seen or thought about.

      Like

      April 1, 2015 at 10:42 AM

  2. I wondered if you had a halo around you. Now I know. Great shot.

    Like

    April 1, 2015 at 7:47 AM

    • Uhhhh . . . thank you??? Looks can be deceiving, you know . . .

      Like

      April 1, 2015 at 10:53 AM

  3. Leslie Organ

    i’d say your dawdling paid off handsomely!

    Like

    April 1, 2015 at 11:13 AM

  4. That is super, Linda

    Like

    April 1, 2015 at 4:20 PM

    • Thank you, Andy. I take a lot of photographs of my shadow to document my presence at particular places, but I don’t think I’ve ever been tempted to share one of them before. Glad you like it.

      Like

      April 1, 2015 at 5:00 PM

      • Shadows are a very good way of discretely taking a ‘selfie’ without giving too much away!!

        Like

        April 1, 2015 at 5:11 PM

  5. orepuk

    Splendide également, j’adore le mélange, couleurs chaudes et froides.

    Like

    April 2, 2015 at 12:58 PM

    • Merci, Orepuk. J’aime toujours bleu et orange ensemble. (Le trottoir ressemble bleu pour moi.)

      Like

      April 2, 2015 at 3:58 PM

  6. I’ve done that too – like you mention above, taking a photo of one’s shadow as a documentation of the time and place. This one is very nice.

    Like

    April 5, 2015 at 5:57 PM

Comment?

