Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Took the Long Way Home 2


April 2, 2015

I was in one of Janet’s and my favorite Sarasota alleys, not hearing the delivery truck in back of me as I focussed and framed a photograph of a puddle in the alley. After I took my shot, I backed up, saw the truck, and moved aside so it could pass. It stopped a few yards in front of me to deliver something, and a young man/boy jumped out of the passenger seat and asked me if I’d gotten a good photograph.

I said, “I think so.”

“Let me see,” he said.

“You won’t like it,” I said.

“Why not?”

“It’s strange.”

I showed him the photo on the back of the camera.

“It’s the puddle with the sky reflected in it,” I said.

“Oh, that’s awesome!”

“Yeah?!!!”

“Yeah! It looks like a river, like an urban river.”

Shame on me. Not only did he get it, but he also attached words I didn’t think of. I will not say, “You won’t like it” to anyone about my photographs again.

03212015 Walk Home from Farmers Mkt-40

14 responses

  1. That delivery man has good taste as well as visual skills. He has an interest in photography, otherwise he wouldn’t ask to see the photo, too.

    Like

    April 2, 2015 at 7:13 AM

    • I agree, Ken. I’m ashamed of my response, but I thought posting the story here might help someone else not make the same mistake. It’s also my apology to the young man, though I’m sure he’ll never see it.

      Like

      April 2, 2015 at 10:24 AM

  2. Leslie Organ

    what a great story to go with a compelling photo.  thx for sharing both.  moral of the story:  never underestimate your work or its viewer.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 2, 2015 at 7:23 AM

  3. orepuk

    Magnifique, splendide, j’aurai aimer faire cette photo, j’en si presque jaloux. 🙂

    Like

    April 2, 2015 at 12:53 PM

  4. Merci beaucoup, Orepuk. Regardes les flaques dans les rues. Tu trouveras ta propre rivière!

    Liked by 1 person

    April 2, 2015 at 1:10 PM

  5. Linda, that’s a great story and I am so glad you posted it here.

    Like

    April 2, 2015 at 4:02 PM

    • Thank you, Melinda. It’s a story I probably would have shared only with Janet before. You all (the blogosphere) will have to take on one of her roles now.

      Like

      April 2, 2015 at 4:23 PM

  6. bernhardtk@aol.com

    A successful life is full of learning.

    Like

    April 2, 2015 at 10:59 PM

  7. A very perceptive delivery man. Urban River – spot on! Well seen, Linda

    Like

    April 3, 2015 at 4:03 AM

  8. This is the best story. I can imagine myself having the same encounter. It’s so easy to prejudge, and so refreshing to find out one was wrong, even if it comes with a little guilt and humiliation! He was right about an urban river – it could have been taken from a plane. Lovely shot. Gee, Sarasota is a gold mine for you!

    Like

    April 5, 2015 at 5:55 PM

    • Thank you, Lynn, for your understanding. This story was a bit hard to post, but I’m glad I did. Just wish the young man could know . . . And, yes, Sarasota offers a lot to me; I’m sure I haven’t even begun to find even a fraction of it.

      Like

      April 5, 2015 at 9:07 PM

Comment?

