Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Took the Long Way Home 9


April 9, 2015

This photograph is a rip-off. Oh, I took the photograph myself, but I processed it trying to copy Leanne Cole, who says she was emulating Paul Barson. I love these bird-of-paradise flowers, especially when the sun comes through them from the back. But the foliage tends to confuse the picture, I think. A while back I posted a similar photograph where I’d used intentional camera movement to cut down on the clutter of the green. In this shot, well, you can see what I’ve done, though perhaps not as skillfully as Leanne or Paul would have. I’d love to see how they would have treated this flower. By the way, it was about four steps away from where I took the photo in yesterday’s post.

 

03212015-untitled-187

10 responses

  1. Very well done, Linda. This is a difficult flower to photograph simply because of its size and the fact it has lines jutting all over the place. It’s hard to put it into a simple context but you’ve done an excellent job here.

    Like

    April 9, 2015 at 7:05 AM

    • Thank you, Ken. And thank you for explaining why I have such a hard time with these flowers.

      Like

      April 9, 2015 at 10:58 AM

  2. annberingerhollins@verizon.net

    Lovely bird

    Like

    April 9, 2015 at 9:54 AM

  3. bernhardtk@aol.com

    I have always wanted to live where they grow. Love them!

    Like

    April 9, 2015 at 6:18 PM

  4. orepuk

    Je n’aime pas teement les photos de fleurs, sauf quand elles sont mises en scène comme ici, ça donne une photo merveilleuse, peu être mieux que Paul Barson.

    Like

    April 10, 2015 at 6:03 AM

    • Merci, Orepuk, mais je ne suis pas d’accord. Paul Barson, c’est le maître. Cependant, tu me rends heureux. 🙂

      Like

      April 10, 2015 at 9:53 AM

  5. I agree, They’re really hard to photograph well. I wonder how this would look if you went even further, darkening and softening the flower as well as the background. Thanks for mentioning your inspiration – I hadn’t seen Paul Barson’s work, and I like it very much.

    Like

    April 11, 2015 at 7:22 PM

    • Glad to be able to pass along the word on Paul Barson. The reason I took so long to reply here is that I wanted to try what you suggest. Eh. I don’t think I got it. Am sending you e-mail with my attempt. Hope you can show me what you had in mind.

      Like

      April 16, 2015 at 9:00 AM

Comment?

