Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

From the Archives 1


April 10, 2015

I haven’t been out with the camera lately, so for a few days I will dip into the archives. Despite today’s blog title, this isn’t really the first photograph I’ve dug up from my archives. But if I start titling the blog posts of old photographs this way now (should have started earlier), I’ll be less likely to accidentally repeat myself when I dig into them again. This is a photo I took February 2, 2002, of a small rivulet headed for Ohio’s Vermilion River. This spot was maybe five yards away from the river bank. The stuff in the water that is bunching up like windrows is evidence of some kind of bacterium, but probably not an iron-breathing one. The “pearls” are bubbles stilled by bacterial film.

02022002-03.alt

9 responses

  1. This is an extraordinary image, Linda.

    Like

    April 10, 2015 at 6:25 AM

    • Thanks, Ken. It has its technical flaws, taken as it was with the 5-megapixel Sony Cyber-shot DSC-F707, considered a pro-sumer camera at the time. The lens, a Zeiss, was bigger than the body. I’m amazed at the quality of some of the photographs I took with this camera—as long as you don’t blow them up too far. This photograph doesn’t take kindly to enlargement, but I still like the subject and colors, so thought I’d show it.

      Like

      April 10, 2015 at 10:40 AM

      • Every year I have books of photos printed at Adorama Pix and an image like this would print very well as a 4×6-inch book. I actually prefer the printed books to prints these days now that I have no more room to display them. Books make great gifts (at least for my family) and they are a good way to share your images.

        Like

        April 10, 2015 at 11:44 AM

  2. Mary Ellyn Cain

    but what is the stuff that looks like eyelashes? Beautiful by the way. ME

    Like

    April 10, 2015 at 11:38 AM

    • Thanks, Mary Ellyn. I don’t know for sure what that stuff is. My guess is that it is something the bacterium has precipitated out of the water—perhaps a sulfur compound. Maybe someone reading this knows or has another guess?

      Like

      April 10, 2015 at 1:50 PM

  3. Fascinating – i love it. I think of bacteria as being generally a lot smaller than this. And the “pearls” – a good name for those bubbles.

    Like

    April 11, 2015 at 7:12 PM

    • Those “eyelashes,” as Mary Ellyn calls them, are only evidence of the bacterium, not the bacteria themselves. You’re right: bacteria are a lot smaller. Look at this neat comparison of the size of an E. coli bacterium and a red blood cell: http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/content/cells/scale/. (Move the slider.)

      Like

      April 11, 2015 at 8:01 PM

  4. orepuk

    Splendide et merveilleux, mais je ne tramperais pas mes mains dedans, de peur d’être dévoré par les bactéries.

    Like

    April 12, 2015 at 6:01 AM

Comment?

