Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Lorain, Ohio 1


June 11, 2015

Before globalization Lorain, Ohio, was a major steel producer in the U.S.—behind Pittsburgh, to be sure, but still important. According to Wikipedia, “These mills have operated in the city since 1895 and continue to employ thousands of local residents.” Ah, yes, but things are not the way they used to be. Employee parking lots are mostly empty, and nearby businesses closed. My friend Susanne used to work there and recently guided me past the mills that stretch for three miles along the Black River. It was a bittersweet trip for her. Susanne’s four years there predated the decline of the mills, and every turn seemed to ignite nostalgia for her. She arranged this trip thinking I might enjoy photographing the old structures. And I would have, except that no one is allowed on the property who isn’t an employee or official guest, and it was impossible to get close enough for the kind of photographs I wanted to take. I accidentally stepped onto what I thought was a public alley, and a watchful security guard let me know my error. He pointed me to an adjacent piece of property that he said did not belong to the steel company and said I could photograph from there. So I did. It’s the only decent shot I was able to get of the works. Can’t you just imagine getting closer?06092015 Lorain Steel Mills-56

6 responses

  1. If you could have gotten closer, you probably would have spent the better part of the week there.

    Like

    June 11, 2015 at 6:57 AM

    • You’re probably right, Ken. And then I might have noticed that I was hungry.

      Like

      June 11, 2015 at 7:02 AM

  2. Google Maps has an almost identical photo here : https://ssl.panoramio.com/photo/22937329

    Like

    June 11, 2015 at 11:39 AM

    • Amazing. Some of the other photos this person took are (at least now) off limits for the general public. Glad he got them, though.

      Like

      June 11, 2015 at 12:40 PM

  3. If only one could strip away the wire ‘knitting’ in the foreground then with a long lens there would be a lot to photograph.

    Like

    June 14, 2015 at 4:24 AM

    • There sure would, Andy. I guess we can’t get every shot we see.

      Like

      June 14, 2015 at 7:33 AM

Comment?

