Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Interference in Color and Life


June 20, 2015

Today’s photograph shows a biofilm of Leptothrix discophora, familiar to those of you who have followed this blog very long. I’m posting this photo today because I want to talk about interference. That’s the name for the kind of color you see here. It’s also what’s happening in my life: Interference, especially with my photography. (We’re moving and getting the house ready to sell.) I need to cut back a bit. So I’ll be posting only weekly for a while. I will miss the weekly photo shoots, the daily blogging, and your daily Likes and Comments. I  hope to pick up the pace this fall.

09032014 Schoepfle Garden-60

12 responses

  1. Good luck with your upcoming move. I don’t envy you but, with this photo, you’re leaving (daily posts) on a high note.

    Like

    June 20, 2015 at 1:16 PM

    • Thank you, Ken. I took me a while to find a photo I thought was worthy. Glad you like it.

      Like

      June 20, 2015 at 1:23 PM

  2. Leslie Organ

    david opines that this effect is a result of industrial runoff.  is that true?

    Like

    June 20, 2015 at 4:50 PM

    • Nope, it’s the result of microscopic iron being embedded in the shale riverbed, released into the water, and then breathed by the iron bacterium Leptothrix discophora. Tell David to go to http://scienceandartpress.com and click on the Links tab.

      Like

      June 20, 2015 at 5:00 PM

      • Is there an easy way to tell that this is not from pollution?

        Like

        July 17, 2015 at 5:07 PM

        • Water with a relatively high acid content may foster the growth of these bacteria. But the high acidity may or may not signal pollution. Bogs often support these microbes, and they are acidic by nature, not pollution. Something called Acid Mine Drainage (see http://www.sosbluewaters.org/epa-what-is-acid-mine-drainage%5B1%5D.pdf) definitely is a pollution problem, and it involves iron and manganese and the bacteria that breathe them. So I think the answer to your question is no, at least for us lay people.

          Like

          July 19, 2015 at 3:00 PM

  3. Fascinating image, and so beautiful (I see the similarity to titanium very clearly here). Good luck with the move and settling in in the new place!

    Like

    June 20, 2015 at 11:58 PM

    • Thank you, Gunilla. And thanks for the good luck for the move—I need as much as I can get. Settling in will be the easy part. It’s figuring out where to dispose of a lifetime of accumulated stuff that’s hard. But I’ll figure it out. The longing to get back to taking and posting photos may work as good incentive.

      Like

      June 21, 2015 at 9:21 AM

  4. Moving is definitely going to take up your time Linda! I wish you all the best and weekly posts will be all the more special.

    Like

    June 21, 2015 at 5:04 PM

  5. Good luck with the move, Linda. We are house hunting and have been now for several months and a move will happen sometime, but I’m not quite sure when. So I can well understand the pressures on your time. Look forward to seeing you back up again when the trauma is over.

    Like

    June 22, 2015 at 3:23 AM

    • Yes, trauma. All my past moves were to bigger residences. This will be in the opposite direction, and it’s getting rid of the stuff that just won’t fit that is so hard. But I am surprising myself with the progress I have made so far. Good luck to us both, Andy, and thanks as always for writing.

      Like

      June 22, 2015 at 12:22 PM

Comment?

