Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

July Iridescence 3

August 24, 2015

I was able to wade across the river to the other bank the last day in July. That’s always such a treat, especially when I can find interesting outcrops of Leptothrix discophora. I loved the coppery color of this patch, and I’ve learned through experience to take the first shot as soon as I’m aware of gasping. You just never know when that will be the defining image. I didn’t like the dead tree trunk there; it seemed to be blocking my clean view, but if I leaned forward a bit over it, I lost the copper color of the film. I just couldn’t get any closer and keep that color. The second photograph is just a crop of the first photo, and the quality isn’t as good cropped this much. For the third photo I sidled right up to the film but could only capture the iridescence from a different angle. Still beautiful stuff, but for me it lacks the attraction that caused me to gasp. . . . I wonder now if my gasp may have been due partly to the greater context beyond the patch of L. discophora. Maybe I needed to see the film amidst its more prosaic surroundings. If that’s the case, then I’m glad again to have taken that first shot as I did.

07312015 Schoepfle Garden-79

 

07312015 Schoepfle Garden-79-2

 

07312015 Schoepfle Garden-82

6 responses

  1. If you’re like me you may have left that long lens in the car (2 miles away). Still, these shots reproduced very well and I really like the third shot.

    Like

    August 24, 2015 at 6:42 AM

    • Thanks, Ken. I’m afraid it’s more complicated than just leaving my long lens behind. So far I cannot get it to work with the Nikon D600; the focus is off. It worked beautifully with the D200, which wasn’t a full-frame camera. The next thing I have to try is using the DX setting on the D600. Not sure why I haven’t tried it yet. Probably it’s laziness and also fear of giving up the vibration reduction of the lens I use on the D600. Yes, why don’t I just carry both cameras. Too heavy.

      Like

      August 24, 2015 at 12:34 PM

      • The DX mode kicks in automatically when a DX lens is mounted on the D600. I haven’t had a lens that had problems focusing, though. If it only happens with the one lens that lens might need an adjustment. If it’s a Nikon it might be covered.

        Like

        August 24, 2015 at 1:39 PM

        • I’m not very savvy about gear. It’s a Nikon Zoom Micro—Nikkor 70-180mm ƒ4.5-5.6-ED AF. It’s supposed to function as a telephoto and a macro, but the telephoto does’t do well at long distances. It’s lovely for macros. I think it would have been handy in this case, though. It’s a pretty old lens; can’t imagine it would still be covered, but perhaps I should look into it. Thanks, Ken.

          Like

          August 25, 2015 at 4:33 PM

  2. It’s always interesting to hear about someone’s process. What you said makes sense – I don’t like the branch either, and the copper color is really cool. Then as soon as you change your angle, the reflected light changes, right? But I know you’re good for a challenge! 🙂

    Like

    August 26, 2015 at 9:57 PM

    • Right, I think. Sure wish I knew more about the optics. Thanks for writing, Lynn.

      Like

      August 28, 2015 at 8:57 AM

Comment?

