Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Downriver Walk 2015—The Water


My photographs of the Vermilion River shoreline far outnumber my photographs of Vermilion River water rushing downstream. Here are a few photos that make up for some of that lack.

If you will be Oberlin, Ohio, between now and November 14, I hope you can stop in at the Ginko Gallery (19 South Main Street—you can’t miss it) to see the current show: They Breathe Iron: Photographs by Linda Grashoff. I hope to take some installation photographs later this week. . . . The opening was Friday, and many people asked me why the leaves in the photographs had such dimensionality—they look as if you could pick them off the paper. (They really do, to me as well.) I’m stumped. Do those of you who are also photographers have any idea whether it might be due to printing on matte paper and not putting the prints behind glass (they’re held to the wall with rare-earth magnets that are attracted to the roofing nails pounded into the walls)?

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-20

 

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-30

 

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-232

 

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-242

 09182015 Schoepfle Garden-247

12 responses

  1. Fine set; well done; the beauty of water. (that looks like water; I’m not so fond of very long exposure shots, where water has lost all of her subtle details…)

    Like

    October 12, 2015 at 7:29 AM

    • Thank you, Harrie, I’m with you. I also prefer water that looks like water.

      Like

      October 13, 2015 at 2:19 PM

  2. I think if there is high contrast between the subject (leaf, in this case) and background, that there is an increase in depth perception and the leaf stands out more. A fine selection of photos. I wish you good luck at the showing and I wish I could attend.

    Like

    October 12, 2015 at 8:10 AM

    • Thank you, Ken. I wish that you could attend, too. I researched the miles between Webster and Oberlin some years ago. Even though there’s only one state between us, it’s an awfully wide state. I considered the contrast between the leaves and their cast shadows as contributing to the appearance of dramatic depth in some of my photos. Any idea why the same photo seen on the computer screen doesn’t have that same drama?

      Like

      October 13, 2015 at 2:27 PM

      • I think it’s very dependent on the monitor and the way it’s set up. I have a nice monitor with high contrast without the matte finish and I try to keep it calibrated. It shows your photos with a lot of depth. I have it connected to my netbook since I still don’t have a computer and the difference between the netbook display and the monitor is tremendous. Serious photographers should try to get their hands on a good monitor if they want to see their work to the best advantage. It also helps in printing, weather you print yourself or send files out to a good lab (the second is my choice).

        Like

        October 19, 2015 at 4:15 PM

        • Welllll, I’m using the same monitor to print from as I do to see and process the downloaded photos (an iMac 27-inch, Late 2012; Processor 3.2 GHz Intel Core i5; Memory 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3; Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2048 MB; Software OS X 10.8.5 (12F2560). You know what that all means more than I do. (I’m at least two generations behind in my software; I should probably update.) I’m printing to my Epson 3880. That is, I’m printing my own photos on paper sizes the 3880 can handle—up to 17 x 22 inches. For larger photos I send files to the Philadelphia Photo Arts Center (philaphotoarts.org). They do a fantastic job and are great people to work with. I wouldn’t complain about the depth my photos show on this monitor; it’s just that the depth in the printed photos is incredible.

          Like

          October 19, 2015 at 9:00 PM

          • I use the 27 inch iMac at the Museum and I think it has an edge over my HP monitor in every way. I wish I had one at home that would work with all my PC stuff. You have a nice setup. Most newer equipment would not be much better than what you already have.

            Like

            October 19, 2015 at 10:34 PM

            • Thank you, Ken. It’s really good to know that my setup is as good as I think it is. My first work computer was an Apple IIe, to be followed in my new job by a Compac Portable. (When I travelled with the Compaq, people assumed I was carrying a sewing machine.) My first home computer was an Apple SE, which matched what I was using at work at the time. I wondered then whether I really should buy myself a PC, having heard that so many more programs were available for it than for the Apple. In the end, matching what I was using at work seemed like the best choice. Now, of course, I’m glad I stayed with Apple, but there were times over the years that I wondered if that was the best plan.

              Like

              October 21, 2015 at 10:55 AM

  3. The first photograph is especially beautiful, so well composed. You ask a good question. I certainly don’t have an answer but really, the differences between the same image being viewed on a screen, on different devices, as a print, as a print behind glass, on different paper…it’s endless. But still a great question and I know you’ll tell us if you find the answer! 🙂

    Like

    October 18, 2015 at 2:26 PM

    • Thank you, Lynn. I’m afraid I’m no closer to an answer than what oneowner posted above. Maybe that’s all there is to it.

      Like

      October 19, 2015 at 2:32 PM

  4. Love the flow of the water in your first pic. Maybe because I live now in a mountainous forest area, I pay less attention to leaves:) Glad I found your blog today!

    Like

    October 18, 2015 at 9:24 PM

    • Thank you, jesh. I’m glad you found it, too. Thanks for writing.

      Like

      October 19, 2015 at 2:33 PM

Comment?

