Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Downriver Walk 2015—Leptothrix discophora


October 26, 2015

No walk downriver would be completely rewarding without finding some stunning biofilms and precipitates of the iron bacteria. This year, as usual, the reward was there.

I’ll be speaking about my book, They Breathe Iron: Artistic and Scientific Encounters with an Ancient Life Form, at the Friends of the Oberlin College Library tomorrow at 4:30 in the Moffett Auditorium of the Mudd Center. If you’ll be in Oberlin then, please come and say hello.

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-287

 

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-305

 

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-316

 

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-86

 09182015 Schoepfle Garden-78

15 responses

  1. Regrettably, I will be unable to attend but I have no doubt you will do well. But these photos are stunning.

    Like

    October 26, 2015 at 8:10 AM

    • Thanks for your confidence, Ken. Giving talks always scares me. I’m excited to receive the invitation, and then the nerves set in. After it’s all over, I’m happy I did it, but that middle part is difficult. Glad you like the photos. If I didn’t keep finding such glorious films, I might be able to move on to fixate on something else. I keep waiting to get over this stuff. Maybe I never will.

      Like

      October 26, 2015 at 10:39 AM

  2. These are great Linda, and remind me I need to be out looking at my usual spots this time of year. I so wish I could attend the talk. Maybe someone will record and YouTube it?

    Like

    October 26, 2015 at 9:12 AM

    • Thanks, Mark. Actually, the library is going to make a video. I’ll find out how it will be made available. Best wishes for finding rewards at your usual spots.

      Like

      October 26, 2015 at 10:44 AM

  3. great range of colors 🙂

    Like

    October 26, 2015 at 10:47 AM

    • Thanks, Joshi. It’s pretty easy to achieve a great range of colors when I find this stuff!

      Like

      October 26, 2015 at 10:48 AM

  4. Patricia Ramsay

    Lovely. Lovely, lovely

    Like

    October 27, 2015 at 2:00 PM

  5. Kelly Ricks

    I very much enjoyed your talk today. Thank you for sharing your creative journey, and introducing me to these hidden treasures. I’ll certainly be keeping an eye out next time I go walking along the river.

    Like

    October 27, 2015 at 5:49 PM

  6. Thank you, Kelly. I’m glad to have introduced you to these gems. Enjoy your walk, whether or not you find some Leptothrix discophora.

    Like

    October 27, 2015 at 8:13 PM

  7. These are superb! I bet you were happy!

    Like

    November 14, 2015 at 10:14 PM

  8. Thanks, Lynn. I was indeed happy. I love that walk downriver.

    Like

    November 15, 2015 at 1:48 PM

Comment?

