Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Downriver Walk 2015—More Leptothrix discophora


November 1, 2015

I saw more manifestations of Leptothrix discophora September 18 than I showed last week. Here are five more views of it. The sixth photograph shows the iron-oxide precipitate of another oxidizing iron bacterium or bacteria and a lighter precipitate of a different mineral, perhaps aluminite, which has made its appearance in the Vermilion River riverbed on other occasions. To quote from my book, “Aluminite hasn’t been studied in the Vermilion River, but elsewhere it is known to form around fungal and bacterial masses.”

The talk I gave about my book to the Friends of the Oberlin College Library October 27 was recorded, and the video is now online.

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-266-Edit

 

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-49

 

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-62

 

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-129-Edit

 

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-99

 

09182015 Schoepfle Garden-212

6 responses

  1. Beautiful shots, Linda. I would be thrilled if I came across subject matter like this.

    Like

    November 2, 2015 at 7:25 AM

  2. Leslie Organ

    we just finished watching the video of your talk.  you did a great job.  glad you shared this. liked today’s photos better than these.  the stuff is endlessly fascinating isn’t it? david has an answer for you about your current gallery prints seeming 3-d.

    Like

    November 9, 2015 at 3:26 PM

    • Thanks, Leslie. Yes, it is endlessly fascinating. I may never get over it. Looking forward to David’s thoughts on the 3-D quality of my prints.

      Like

      November 9, 2015 at 4:34 PM

  3. Dave Zukowski

    Hi Linda, just watched your video and was mightily impressed. Congratulations on getting yourself published.

    I heard you mention that others had commented on the sharpness of some of the images in your exhibit. I felt the same when I saw the photos attached to the email you sent Leslie. I even have some ideas on why they appear to be that way.

    It was the same kind of effect I noticed when we recently went through the Cleveland Art Museum exhibit of Impressionist painters. Some their works had that same sort of sharpness of image but others didn’t

    So here is my take on why:

    A large part of the impression of sharpness comes from the way some small and large parts of a photo have a modeling effect where, instead of a flat expanse of color which creates a sense of flatness there is modeling when part of it has a crescent of shadowing where the light is less prominent.

    Say you have a rash of projections on a rock and the light is indirect (not full sunlight falling down) yet still direct enough to cast shadowing on the side away from the direction of the light. This shadowing makes the projections appear three dimensional and look as though they have depth even when viewed on the flat plane of an image or against a mostly flat expanse of color, on either paper or computer screen.

    I noticed in the Art Museum exhibit that some of the earlier paintings were more splashes of color without a modeling effect and they didn’t have any where near the suggestion of depth as when, as in later paintings, they took the time to vary the color from more flat monotone to dark and darker as if it were a shadow on a round object. That, too, made an impression of “depth”.

    Combine that with the high definition of your images and things begin to take on aspects of depth and substance.

    I could probably explain this better if we looked at either a print or screen image together so I could point to exactly what I mean. Hope we can do that some day.

    dave zukowski

    Like

    November 14, 2015 at 6:50 PM

    • Thanks for your explanation, Dave. Yes, I think if I could see that effect in a painting, it might help me understand it in my photographs.

      Like

      November 15, 2015 at 1:56 PM

Comment?

