Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Last Month at Jelks Preserve—1


December 18, 2015

My first photography trip in Florida this go-round was to Jelks Preserve. Husband David went with me, and I was hoping to show him some great spots in a place he’d never seen. I forgot, however, that Jelks Preserve’s great spots are miles away from each other and only great once in a while, especially in early spring. After spending an hour or so at what I’ve always thought was a small stream (David tells me it’s more like a drainage ditch—phooey), I wandered around another hour and a half finding nothing worth sharing here. The three photographs I am sharing are all from the small stream/drainage ditch area. I don’t understand why the leaves that were not lit up directly by the sun look bluish, but I like them that way.

11292015 Jelks Preserve-6

4 responses

  1. If you have a few shots as good as this it’s not a total waste of time. We sometimes have to adjust our expectations.

    Like

    December 18, 2015 at 8:45 AM

    • Thanks, Ken. I think I led with the best of the three, but if you like this one that much, it was not a waste of time. And I agree about the need to adjust expectations, or maybe even more, not to have expectations to begin with. I think my photography head wasn’t working at its best, either. I was worrying that my husband might not be enjoying himself and feeling as if I was taking too long. It may not be coincidental that the only photos worth sharing were taken in the first hour, when I wasn’t worrying very much.

      Like

      December 18, 2015 at 11:03 AM

  2. I like the contrasting colours. I find quite often that i go to a place with certain expectations only find them not fulfilled – a combination of many factors: light, time of year/day and sometimes it’s an inability to find the sweet spot found previously.

    Like

    December 24, 2015 at 10:56 AM

  3. Thanks, Andy. I think I’ll stay away from Jelks Preserve for a while. It might help to go back wearing the eyes of a stranger.

    Like

    December 24, 2015 at 2:43 PM

Comment?

